Are you a Lover or a Hater?

Today was a bit of an eye opener.

I’m lucky enough to have a supportive husband who dreams big and wants to live big. We have great trust and respect for one another and always try to lift one another up to be the best possible version of ourselves.

I believe that this attitude can be passed on to others and I love talking to my friends and hearing about their hopes and dreams, because I think we should be working to lift each other up.

I know that not everyone thinks like this, but you believe that your friends are your friends for a reason. To be your friends.

They are the family you choose.

Sadly today I found out that there were people in my life who were hell bent on negativity and tearing myself and others down.

It’s sad when the people you like and respect in your life, the people who you listen to and spend time with, are not what you think.

But I think this has come at a perfect time.

There is so much change going on (inside and outside) that I can’t afford to be around people that are hell bent on destruction. So only surrounding myself with people I respect and love, and who love and respect me can only be good.

It hurt today though, at first I really couldn’t wrap my head around it, but I have come to realize that if I should be feeling anything, it should be pity. What could possibly be going on inside of someone that would cause them to find joy in tearing others down? What is lacking in their life that they feel the need to try and destroy other relationships and friendships.

When I look at it that way, yes, all I feel is compassion. And I hope with all my might that one day they will become a better person and embrace the possibilities the world has to offer, and realise that friendship, support, love and lifting one another up is what it’s about, not tearing each other down. Otherwise at the end all that will remain will be bitterness and emptiness and a lack of true happiness.

So let’s be supportive.

Let’s work together to achieve our dreams.

Let’s have true love and support in our hearts for those around us.

Let’s catch each other when we fall and build each other back up again.

Because we can’t get to the top alone, and wouldn’t it be better if we were all there together anyway?

 

 

~ by Sam Farley on June 23, 2012.

One Response to “Are you a Lover or a Hater?”

  1. amen sister!
    Stick with the people who lift you not tear you down xx

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 386 other followers

